- A crypto trading platform that serves Canadians needs registration with the securities regulators and with FINTRAC. The OSC’s list of 25 September 2026 names 14 registered platforms, including Wealthsimple, Coinbase Canada, Kraken, Bitbuy/Coinsquare, Newton, Shakepay, NDAX and Crypto.com.
- Fees differ a lot: from 0.20% per trade to a spread or fee of 1% or more for a simple purchase.
- Binance, Bybit, OKX, KuCoin, MEXC and Bitget are not on the list, and several of them were sanctioned or warned about by Canadian regulators.
- CIPF investor protection does not cover crypto. Registered platforms must hold at least 80% of client crypto with a third-party custodian, separate from their own assets.
This page compares the crypto trading platforms that serve residents of Canada and explains how to check one; the rules behind it are on regulation. We do not rank or recommend any platform, and there are no affiliate links. Fees change often: the figures below are what each platform published on its own pages on 7 October 2026. Whether a platform is registered comes from the regulators.
Who may serve you
Crypto trading platforms (CTPs) register with the provincial and territorial securities regulators as a restricted dealer or as an investment dealer. On 6 August 2024 the CSA and CIRO said platforms “are expected to register as investment dealers and become members of CIRO”, the Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization. The Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) lists these platforms as having received exemptive relief to offer crypto products to investors in Ontario (list last updated 25 September 2026):
| Platform | Legal entity | Registration | Latest decision |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitbuy and Coinsquare | Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd. | Investment dealer, CIRO member | 11 October 2024 |
| Coinbase | Coinbase Canada Inc. | Restricted dealer | 1 April 2026 (amended) |
| Crypto.com | Foris DAX CAN ULC and affiliates | Restricted dealer | 18 August 2026 (amended) |
| Cybrid | Cybrid Canada Inc. | Restricted dealer (Ontario only) | 17 January 2025 |
| Fidelity Digital Assets | Fidelity Clearing Canada ULC | Investment dealer | 14 April 2026 |
| Kraken | Payward Canada Inc. and Payward, Inc. | Restricted dealer | 18 August 2026 (amended) |
| NDAX | Ndax Canada Inc. | Investment dealer | 18 August 2026 (amended) |
| Netcoins | Netcoins Inc. | Restricted dealer | 16 September 2026 (amended) |
| Newton | Newton Crypto Ltd. | Investment dealer | 25 March 2026 (amended) |
| Satstreet | Satstreet Inc. | Restricted dealer | 6 July 2026 |
| Shakepay | Shakepay Inc. | Investment dealer | 8 January 2025 |
| Wealthsimple | Wealthsimple Investments Inc. | Investment dealer | 18 August 2026 (amended) |
| Webull | Webull Canada Crypto Limited | Investment dealer | 17 June 2026 |
The OSC list also includes Fidelity Digital Asset Services, LLC as an exempt marketplace and clearing agency. It shows the Ontario view; decisions for other provinces are on the CSA website, which we could not read automatically, so check it for your province. The same OSC page lists platforms that are no longer registered: Bitvo, Coinberry and CoinSmart (“acquired by Bitbuy”), Bitbuy Technologies Inc. (“business acquired by Coinsquare”), and VirgoCX, whose registration was “suspended effective November 24, 2025”. Gemini “no longer offers services to retail clients in Canada”.
Not registered
- Binance is not on the OSC list. FINTRAC fined Binance Holdings Limited CAD 6,002,000 on 7 May 2024.
- KuCoin: on 22 June 2022 Mek Global Limited and PhoenixFin Pte. Ltd. were permanently banned from Ontario’s capital markets and paid an administrative penalty of CAD 2,000,000. FINTRAC fined Peken Global Limited (KuCoin) CAD 19,552,000 on 28 July 2025; the company has appealed.
- MEXC is on the OSC’s investor warning list (30 May 2025) and the BCSC’s investment caution list (23 August 2023). Bitget (Canada Bitget Limited) is on the Alberta Securities Commission’s caution list (1 April 2024).
- Bybit and OKX settled with the OSC in 2022 and are not on the list (see enforcement).
Fees compared
The table shows what each platform’s own pages said on 7 October 2026, for a normal customer at the lowest fee level. “Simple buy” is the buy button in the app; “order book” is the advanced trading screen (maker / taker). A spread is the difference between the buying and selling price and is an extra cost on top of any fee. Interac e-Transfer is the usual way to move Canadian dollars. “Not found” means we could not find or read the figure on the platform’s own pages.
| Platform | Simple buy | Order book (maker / taker) | CAD deposit by Interac e-Transfer | CAD withdrawal | Coins to your own wallet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitbuy | Spread, no trading fee (Express) | 0.50% / 0.50% (Pro) | Free | e-Transfer free; EFT and wire 1.5% | Yes, dynamic network fee (minimum 0.0006 BTC) |
| Coinbase | Fee plus spread; rate not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Coinsquare | Spread, no trading fee | 0.50% / 0.50% (Pro) | Free | e-Transfer free; EFT and wire 1.5% | Yes, dynamic network fee (minimum 0.0006 BTC) |
| Crypto.com | May charge an admin fee, shown before you confirm | Not found | Free (Interac Request Money 1%, maximum CAD 10) | CAD 1.99 | Not found |
| Kraken | 1% plus spread | 0.40% / 0.80% | Free (minimum CAD 5) | Not found | Yes, fee not found |
| NDAX | 0.20% flat | 0.20% flat | Free | e-Transfer CAD 1.50; EFT CAD 4.99 | Yes, flat fee per coin (table not readable) |
| Newton | 1.00–1.15% for BTC, ETH and USDC, more for other coins; lower with volume | – | Free | e-Transfer and EFT free | Yes: network fee, CAD 10 plus network fee for the fast option, or free in a nightly batch |
| Shakepay | No commission; spread | – | Free | e-Transfer free | Yes, free at normal speed (bitcoin) |
| Wealthsimple | 0.5% plus spread; no spread on limit orders | – | Fee not stated | Not found | Yes, network fee set by the network |
A few things the table does not show:
- Bitbuy and Coinsquare are run by the same company, Coinsquare Capital Markets Ltd., and publish the same fee schedule. Bitbuy says it “is now part of Robinhood”.
- Kraken charges 1.5% on custom orders, and its Kraken+ plan waives fees on up to CAD 10,000 a month. Shakepay says recurring bitcoin purchases have no spread from day 8. Wealthsimple adds CAD 1 on trades under CAD 100.
- Wealthsimple‘s crypto page states both a 0.5% fee and, in its FAQ, no commission on CAD trades; the fee is what we use.
- We could not read VirgoCX‘s site; its registration is suspended (see above).
Features compared
| Platform | Number of coins (its own claim) | Staking | Recurring buy | Bitcoin Lightning | In French |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitbuy | Not found | Yes (25–30% commission) | Not found | Not found | Yes |
| Coinbase | 200+ | Yes | Not found | Not found | Yes |
| Coinsquare | 60+ | Yes (25–30% commission) | Not found | Not found | Yes |
| Crypto.com | Not found | Yes | Not found | Not found | Help center |
| Kraken | Not stated (600+ trading pairs) | Yes (20% commission) | Yes | Not found | Not verified |
| NDAX | Not found | Yes (20% fee) | Yes | Yes (since 12 May 2026) | Yes |
| Newton | 50+ | Yes (commission per coin) | Yes | Not found | Not found |
| Shakepay | Bitcoin, ether and USDC | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Wealthsimple | 170+ | Yes (for example ETH, SOL, ADA, DOT; a share of rewards) | Yes | Not found | Yes |
With staking, the platform keeps part of your rewards as its commission. How staking rewards are taxed is on personal tax.
How to check a platform
- Look the platform up in the CSA’s National Registration Search (aretheyregistered.ca) and the OSC or CSA list of registered crypto trading platforms. Check that the legal entity you sign up with is the one listed.
- Check FINTRAC’s MSB registry. FINTRAC warns that registration “does not indicate that FINTRAC endorses or licenses the business. It indicates only that the business has satisfied the legal requirements to register.”
- Check the warning and caution lists of the OSC, the BCSC, the ASC and Quebec’s AMF.
- Read the fee page before you deposit, and look at the spread and the cost of withdrawing coins, not only the trading fee.
Registered platforms have limits for ordinary investors. In the Kraken decision of 1 April 2025, for example, a client who is not an eligible or accredited investor may buy at most a net CAD 30,000 of crypto in 12 months, outside Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Quebec and Saskatchewan; bitcoin, ether and a few other “Specified Crypto Assets” are excluded from the limit.
Enforcement against platforms
| Platform | Measure |
|---|---|
| Bybit Fintech Limited | OSC settlement (22 June 2022): disgorged USD 2,468,910 and paid CAD 10,000 |
| Mek Global Limited and PhoenixFin Pte. Ltd. (KuCoin) | Permanent ban from Ontario’s capital markets and CAD 2,000,000 penalty (22 June 2022) |
| Aux Cayes Fintech Co. Ltd. (OKX) | Capital Markets Tribunal order (12 October 2022): CAD 600,000 penalty, USD 514,950 disgorged, CAD 25,000 costs |
| Polo Digital Assets, Ltd. (Poloniex) | Tribunal order (27 October 2022): CAD 1,500,000 penalty, USD 1,825,417.89 disgorged |
| Binance Holdings Limited | FINTRAC penalty of CAD 6,002,000 (7 May 2024) |
| Peken Global Limited (KuCoin) | FINTRAC penalty of CAD 19,552,000 (28 July 2025), under appeal |
If a platform fails
There is no guarantee scheme for crypto. The Canadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF), which protects clients of CIRO members if a firm becomes insolvent, says: “No, crypto assets held by a CIPF member firm on your behalf are not covered by CIPF.” It does cover cash in a crypto trading account with a CIPF member, and crypto ETFs and funds, up to CAD 1 million for all general accounts combined. The Financial Consumer Agency of Canada adds that deposit insurance does not cover crypto assets. What the securities regulators require instead (CSA Staff Notice 21-332 and the registration decisions):
- Custody. At least 80% of the total value of client crypto must be held with an acceptable third-party custodian, which must be independent, audited and have a SOC 2 report. The Kraken decision adds that each custodian keeps an appropriate level of insurance.
- Separation. Client assets are held “separate and apart from its own property” and “in trust for the benefit of the client”.
- No re-use. Platforms may not pledge or re-hypothecate client crypto, and may not offer margin or leverage.
These rules lower the risk but do not remove it. Coins in your own wallet do not depend on a platform at all; the rules for that are on regulation. If you move a larger amount of bitcoin into self-custody, this comparison of a single hardware wallet and a multisig setup explains the options.
Where to complain
- The platform first. OBSI says investment firms have 90 days to deal with your complaint, or 60 days for Quebec residents (90 in exceptional circumstances).
- OBSI. The Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments handles complaints about firms that participate in it; securities registrants are required to belong to it. You have 180 days after the firm’s final response, and OBSI can recommend up to CAD 350,000 per complaint. Its recommendations are not binding, but OBSI publishes refusals. OBSI’s own search is the place to check whether a crypto platform participates; we could not read it automatically.
- Your securities regulator (for example the OSC, BCSC, ASC or AMF) for misconduct by a registered firm, and the police for fraud (see regulation).
- Court. You can always start legal proceedings.
Sources
- OSC: Crypto businesses (registered platforms, list of 25 September 2026) (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: CSA and CIRO expect crypto trading platforms to prioritize investment dealer registration (6 August 2024) (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: CSA Staff Notice 21-332 (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: Payward Canada Inc. and Payward, Inc., decision of 1 April 2025 (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: VirgoCX Inc., decision (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: OSC holds global crypto asset trading platforms accountable (Bybit, KuCoin) (last checked October 2026)
- Capital Markets Tribunal: Order in the matter of Aux Cayes Fintech Co. Ltd. (last checked October 2026)
- Capital Markets Tribunal: Order in the matter of Polo Digital Assets, Ltd. (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: Investor warning, KuCoin (last checked October 2026)
- OSC: Investor warning, MEXC (last checked October 2026)
- BCSC: Investment caution list, MEXC (last checked October 2026)
- Alberta Securities Commission: Investment caution list, Canada Bitget Limited (last checked October 2026)
- FINTRAC: Penalty imposed on Binance Holdings Limited (last checked October 2026)
- FINTRAC: Penalty imposed on Peken Global Limited (KuCoin) (last checked October 2026)
- FINTRAC: MSB registry search (last checked October 2026)
- CIPF: Frequently asked questions (last checked October 2026)
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada: Crypto assets (last checked October 2026)
- OBSI: Frequently asked questions (last checked October 2026)
- OBSI: How the complaint process works (last checked October 2026)
- OBSI: Become a participating firm (last checked October 2026)
Exchange pages (not official sources)
Fees and features come from each platform’s own pages, checked on 7 October 2026. They are the platform’s own statements, not checked by a regulator.
- Bitbuy: Fees (last checked October 2026)
- Coinbase: User agreement (Canada) (last checked October 2026)
- Coinsquare: Fees (last checked October 2026)
- Crypto.com: Help center, fees (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Fee schedule (Canada) (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Help center, instant buy fees (last checked October 2026)
- NDAX: Fees (last checked October 2026)
- NDAX: BTC Lightning on NDAX (last checked October 2026)
- Newton: Fees (help center) (last checked October 2026)
- Shakepay: Fees (last checked October 2026)
- Wealthsimple: Crypto (last checked October 2026)
- Wealthsimple: Help center, crypto fees (last checked October 2026)
This page is general information, not financial advice. Fees and registrations change, so check the regulators’ lists and the platform’s own fee page before you open an account.