- An exchange may serve customers in the Netherlands only with a MiCA license from the AFM or with a license from another EU country that it has passported to the Netherlands. Both kinds appear in the AFM register.
- Fees differ a lot: from about 0.15% to more than 1.5% for a simple purchase, and the spread is often on top. Some providers do not let you move coins to your own wallet.
- Binance, Bitget, Nexo and MEXC were not in the EU register of licensed providers on 7 October 2026.
- Crypto at an exchange is not covered by the deposit guarantee or the investor compensation scheme. MiCA does require exchanges to keep customers’ crypto separate from their own assets.
This page compares the crypto exchanges that serve residents of the Netherlands and explains how to check one. We do not rank or recommend any exchange, and there are no affiliate links. Fees change often: the figures below are what each exchange published on its own pages on 7 October 2026. Whether a provider is licensed comes from the AFM and ESMA registers.
Who may serve you
Under MiCA, nobody may provide crypto-asset services in the EU without a license (Article 63) or a notification by an already licensed firm such as a bank (Article 60). A provider licensed in one EU country may serve the whole EU after notifying the other countries (passporting). The AFM register lists both the providers licensed by the AFM and the providers from other EU countries that may serve the Netherlands. The AFM says that a firm in the register “mag de vermelde activiteiten verrichten in Nederland”. In the Netherlands the transitional period for firms registered with DNB ended on 30 June 2025, so a DNB registration alone is no longer enough.
These are the exchanges most used by consumers in the Netherlands, with their license as shown in the ESMA register of 7 October 2026 and the AFM register:
| Exchange | Legal entity | Licensed by | Licensed in NL or start in NL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bitonic | Bitonic B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 21 November 2025 |
| Bitpanda | Bitpanda GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 14 April 2025 |
| Bitstamp | Bitstamp Europe S.A. | CSSF (Luxembourg) | 15 May 2025 |
| Bitvavo | Bitvavo B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 26 June 2025 |
| BLOX | BLOX B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 30 September 2025 |
| BTC Direct | BTC Direct Europe B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 18 June 2025 |
| Bybit EU | Bybit EU GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 28 May 2025 |
| Coinbase | Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. | CSSF (Luxembourg) | 20 June 2025 |
| Coinmerce | Coinmerce B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 5 November 2025 |
| Crypto.com | Foris DAX MT Ltd | MFSA (Malta) | 12 February 2025 |
| eToro | eToro (Europe) Ltd | CySEC (Cyprus) | 22 March 2025 |
| Finst | Finst B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 23 July 2025 |
| Gemini | Gemini Intergalactic EU Ltd | MFSA (Malta) | 21 August 2025 |
| Kraken | Payward Europe Solutions Ltd | Central Bank of Ireland | 27 June 2025 |
| KuCoin EU | KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 27 November 2025 |
| OKX | OKX Europe Ltd | MFSA (Malta) | 15 February 2025 |
| Revolut | Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd | CySEC (Cyprus) | 21 October 2025 |
| Trade Republic | Trade Republic Bank GmbH (a bank, notification) | BaFin (Germany) | 28 April 2025 |
For providers licensed by the AFM the date is the license date; for the others it is the start date in the Netherlands in the AFM register. In total the ESMA register of 7 October 2026 listed 28 active providers licensed in the Netherlands and 175 from other EU countries that may serve the Netherlands. Many of them are not exchanges for consumers but, for example, payment or custody firms.
Not in the register
- Binance was not in the ESMA register of licensed providers. Binance itself announced on 16 June 2023 that it was leaving the Dutch market.
- MEXC is on ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities: on 16 September 2025 the AFM found that MEXC provided crypto-asset services in the Netherlands without the required MiCA license.
- Bitget and Nexo were not in the ESMA register of licensed providers either.
Fees compared
MiCA requires exchanges to publish their pricing, costs and fees “in a prominent place on their website” (Article 66(4)). The table shows what each exchange’s own pages said on 7 October 2026, for a normal customer at the lowest fee level. “Simple buy” is the buy button in the app; “advanced” is the order book (maker / taker). A spread is the difference between the buying and selling price and is an extra cost on top of the fee. “Not found” means we could not find or read the figure on the exchange’s own pages.
| Exchange | Simple buy | Advanced (maker / taker) | Deposit with iDEAL | Euro withdrawal | Coins to your own wallet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitonic | 1.0% (bitcoin only) | – | Free | Free | Yes, network fee |
| Bitpanda | 0.99% for bitcoin, 1.49% for other coins, included in the price | 0.25% (Fusion) | Not found | Free | Yes, 0.00000598 BTC |
| Bitstamp | Spread 1.8% plus 0–0.5% when markets are volatile | 0.30% / 0.40% | Not found (SEPA free) | €3 | Yes, variable fee |
| Bitvavo | Taker fee, at most 0.25%; the “price guarantee” option adds a spread | Maker not found / at most 0.25% | Free | Free | Yes, 0.000017 BTC |
| BLOX | 0.25% plus a price markup of 0.5–1.0% (temporarily up to 2.5%) | – | Free | One free per month, then €0.35 | No |
| Bybit EU | Spread 1.30% on weekdays 07:31–20:59 UTC, 1.80% at other times | 0.25% / 0.25% | Free | Not found | Yes, fixed fee per coin |
| Coinbase | Fee plus spread; rate not found | From 0.0% maker (its own claim) | Free | Not found | Yes, network fee |
| Coinmerce | 0.25% plus a risk markup | – | €0.30 | Free | Yes, network fee |
| Crypto.com | 0.80%, other fees and spread may apply | Not found | Not found (SEPA free) | €1 | Yes, 0.0002 BTC (0.0004 BTC from 0.002 BTC) |
| eToro | 1% plus spread | – | Available, no fee listed | Free | Via eToro Money, 2% (minimum $1, maximum $100) |
| Finst | 0.15%, no extra spread | – | Free | Free | Yes, to your own wallet only: network fee plus €2.50 |
| Kraken | 1% plus spread | 0.40% / 0.80% | Free | €1 (instant €0.90) | Yes, fee not found |
| OKX | Spread 1.00% | 0.08% / 0.10% | Free | Free | Yes, fixed fee per withdrawal |
| Revolut | 1.49% (minimum €0.99 to €2.99) plus a spread of 0–3% | 0% / 0.09% (Revolut X) | Via your Revolut account | Not found | Yes on eligible plans, service fee plus network fee |
| Trade Republic | €1 per order plus spread (size not stated) | – | Not found | Not found | Yes, network fee only |
A few things the table does not show:
- BLOX deliberately does not let you send coins to another wallet, except in exceptional cases. You can only sell them for euros.
- Coinmerce charges €1 per month for its custody account, plus 1% per year over the value above €10,000.
- Finst says that withdrawals to other exchanges are temporarily not available; withdrawals to your own wallet are.
- Bybit EU introduced its single fee of 0.25% on 5 October 2026. OKX publishes 0.08% / 0.10% on its fee page, while one of its own explanatory articles names higher rates; the fee page is what we use.
- Card payments usually cost extra, for example 1% at Bitvavo, 1.99% at OKX and €0.25 plus 3.75% for a debit card at Kraken.
Features compared
| Exchange | Number of coins (its own claim) | Staking | Recurring buy | Bitcoin Lightning | In Dutch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitonic | 1 (bitcoin) | No | Yes (Auto Invest, 0% up to €250 a month) | Yes | Site, phone support |
| Bitpanda | 650+ | Yes (20% of rewards) | Yes | Not found | Site |
| Bitstamp | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | No Dutch site found |
| Bitvavo | 400+ | Yes | Yes | No | App and site |
| BLOX | 185+ | No (lending instead) | Yes, from €25 | Not applicable | App, chat and email |
| Bybit EU | 115+ | Earn (unregulated, in its own words) | Yes | Not found | Platform |
| Coinbase | “Hundreds” | Yes | Yes | Not found | Site |
| Coinmerce | 300+ | Earn (lending to Coinmerce Earn B.V.) | Yes | Not found | Site, chat and phone |
| Crypto.com | 400+ | Yes | Yes | Not found | Help center |
| eToro | 150+ | Yes | Yes (from $25) | Not found | Site |
| Finst | 400+ | Yes (25–45% commission) | Yes | Not found | App, phone |
| Kraken | 600+ | Yes (20% commission on flexible staking) | Yes | Yes | App |
| OKX | Not stated | Yes | Yes | Yes (up to 0.05 BTC per withdrawal) | Site |
| Revolut | Not found | Yes | Yes | Not found | Not verified |
| Trade Republic | 50 | Yes | Yes (savings plan) | Not found | Site |
Staking and lending are not regulated under MiCA; Bitvavo and Bybit EU say so themselves. With lending you give your coins to the provider or a related company, which adds risk.
How to check a provider
- Look the provider up in the AFM register of crypto-asset service providers. Check that the legal entity you sign up with is the one in the register, and which services it may provide.
- For providers from other EU countries, the ESMA register shows the home regulator and the countries it may serve.
- Check the AFM warning list. It also includes warnings from foreign regulators. The AFM advises not to respond to offers from firms it has warned about.
- Read the fee page before you deposit: the exchange must publish it. Look at the spread as well as the fee, and at the cost of withdrawing coins.
The AFM calls trading crypto very risky and warns that consumers can lose their entire investment. A license means a provider is supervised; it does not make the coins themselves safe.
Fines before MiCA
Before MiCA, crypto providers had to register with DNB. DNB took these published measures against large exchanges for serving the Netherlands without that registration:
| Provider | Measure by DNB |
|---|---|
| Binance Holdings Ltd. | Fine of €3,325,000 (25 April 2022) |
| Coinbase Europe Limited | Fine of €3,325,000 (18 January 2023) |
| Payward International Markets Ltd (Kraken) | Order subject to penalty (14 July 2023), €4 million forfeited |
| Bybit Fintech Limited | Fine of €2,250,000 (22 October 2024) |
| Peken Global Limited (KuCoin) | Order subject to penalty (5 August 2024), €4 million forfeited |
| Aux Cayes Fintech Co. Ltd. (OKX) | Fine of €2,250,000 (27 May 2025) |
These measures concern the companies that served Dutch customers at the time. Coinbase, Kraken, Bybit, KuCoin and OKX now serve the Netherlands through other, MiCA-licensed entities (see the first table).
If an exchange fails
There is no guarantee scheme for crypto. DNB says crypto “is niet beschermd door de Nederlandse Depositogarantie”, and that there is no investor compensation for crypto service providers. What MiCA does require:
- Separation. An exchange that holds your crypto must keep it separate from its own, also on the blockchain, and legally separate from its estate, “so that creditors of the crypto-asset service provider have no recourse to crypto-assets held in custody … in particular in the event of insolvency” (Article 75(7)).
- Your euros. Customer money must be placed with a bank or central bank by the end of the next business day, in an account separate from the exchange’s own (Article 70(3)). This does not apply to exchanges that are themselves a bank, payment or e-money institution.
- Liability. The exchange is liable for crypto lost through an incident attributable to it, up to the market value at the time of the loss (Article 75(8)).
- Statements and wind-down. You get a statement of your holdings at least every three months (Article 75(5)), and custodians must have a plan for an orderly wind-down (Article 74).
These rules lower the risk but do not remove it: a failure can still mean a long wait before you get your coins back. Coins in your own wallet do not depend on an exchange at all; the rules for that are on regulation. If you move a larger amount of bitcoin into self-custody, this comparison of a single hardware wallet and a multisig setup explains the options.
Where to complain
- The exchange first. Under MiCA every exchange must have a published complaints procedure, free of charge and with a template, and must investigate complaints “in a timely and fair manner” (Article 71).
- Kifid. If you cannot reach a solution, the Financial Services Complaints Tribunal (Kifid) can help, but only with providers that are affiliated to it. Check this in Kifid’s register of service providers. Kifid first requires the provider’s own procedure, and a complaint within three months of the final answer. We found no rule that requires crypto providers to join Kifid; banks and investment firms that offer crypto are affiliated in that capacity.
- The AFM. You can report a complaint to the AFM. It uses reports in its supervision but does not solve individual cases.
- Court. You can always start legal proceedings.
Sources
- AFM: Crypto-asset service providers (register) (last checked October 2026)
- ESMA: Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA), interim MiCA register (CASP and non-compliant entities files of 7 October 2026) (last checked October 2026)
- AFM: Bekijk de waarschuwingen (last checked October 2026)
- AFM: Crypto (last checked October 2026)
- AFM: Klacht over een financiële onderneming (last checked October 2026)
- Kifid: Kan Kifid mijn klacht behandelen? (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Vragen over de Nederlandse depositogarantie (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Beleggerscompensatie (last checked October 2026)
- EUR-Lex: Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA), Articles 59, 60, 63, 66, 70, 71, 74 and 75 (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Boete voor Binance Holdings Ltd. (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Administrative fine on Coinbase Europe Limited (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Order subject to penalty on Payward International Markets Limited (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Fine for Bybit Fintech Limited (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Order subject to penalty for Peken Global Limited (last checked October 2026)
- DNB: Fine for Aux Cayes Fintech Co. Ltd. (last checked October 2026)
Exchange pages (not official sources)
Fees and features come from each exchange’s own pages, checked on 7 October 2026. They are the exchange’s own statements, not checked by a regulator.
- Bitonic: Tarieven (last checked October 2026)
- Bitpanda: Cost transparency, crypto (last checked October 2026)
- Bitstamp: Fee schedule (last checked October 2026)
- Bitvavo: Fees (help center) (last checked October 2026)
- BLOX: Prijsbeleid (last checked October 2026)
- Bybit EU: Trading fee structure (last checked October 2026)
- Coinbase: User agreement (EEA) (last checked October 2026)
- Coinmerce: Kostenoverzicht (last checked October 2026)
- Crypto.com: Fees and limits (EEA) (last checked October 2026)
- eToro: Kosten (last checked October 2026)
- Finst: Kosten (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Fee schedule (last checked October 2026)
- OKX: Kosten (last checked October 2026)
- Revolut: Fees for exchanging cryptocurrencies (last checked October 2026)
- Trade Republic: Crypto (last checked October 2026)
This page is general information, not financial advice. Fees and licenses change, so check the register and the exchange’s own fee page before you open an account.