France: exchanges

Last reviewed: October 2026

On this page
  1. Who may serve you
    1. Not in the register
  2. Fees compared
  3. Features compared
  4. How to check a provider
    1. Enforcement in France
  5. If an exchange fails
  6. Where to complain
  7. Sources
    1. Exchange pages (not official sources)
  • Since 1 July 2026 an exchange may serve customers in France only with a MiCA license from the AMF or with a license from another EU country that it has passported to France. Both appear on the AMF white list and in the ESMA register.
  • On 7 October 2026 the ESMA register listed 36 active providers licensed by the AMF and 111 from other EU countries that may serve France. Many of them are not exchanges for consumers.
  • Binance’s French entity lost its PSAN registration on 2 July 2026, and no Binance entity was in the ESMA register of licensed providers on 7 October 2026.
  • Fees differ a lot: from no fee plus a spread of up to 1% to about 1.5% for a simple purchase, and the spread is often on top. Withdrawing euros or coins can also cost money.
  • Crypto at an exchange is not covered by the French deposit guarantee fund (FGDR). MiCA does require exchanges to keep customers’ crypto separate from their own assets.

This page compares the crypto exchanges that serve residents of France and explains how to check one. We do not rank or recommend any exchange, and there are no affiliate links. Fees change often: the figures below are what each exchange published on its own pages on 7 October 2026. Whether a provider is licensed comes from the ESMA register and the AMF. The rules behind it are on regulation.

Who may serve you

Under MiCA, nobody may provide crypto-asset services in the EU without a license (Article 59) or a notification by an already licensed firm such as a bank (Article 60). A provider licensed in one EU country may serve the whole EU after notifying the other countries (passporting). The AMF white list shows the providers authorized by the AMF and those authorized in another EU country that may offer their services in France. The French transitional period for firms registered as PSAN ended on 1 July 2026, and the AMF removed all remaining PSAN registrations on 2 July 2026, so a PSAN registration alone is no longer enough.

These are exchanges and brokers used by consumers in France, with their license as shown in the ESMA interim MiCA register of 7 October 2026:

ExchangeLegal entityLicensed byLicense or notification date
BitpandaBitpanda GmbHFMA (Austria)9 April 2025
BitstackBitstack Digital Assets SASAMF (France)30 June 2025
BitstampBitstamp Europe S.A.CSSF (Luxembourg)15 May 2025
BitvavoBitvavo B.V.AFM (Netherlands)26 June 2025
Bybit EUBybit EU GmbHFMA (Austria)28 May 2025
CoinbaseCoinbase Luxembourg S.A.CSSF (Luxembourg)20 June 2025
CoinhouseCoinhouse SASAMF (France)7 May 2026
Crypto.comForis DAX MT LtdMFSA (Malta)27 January 2025
DeskoinDeskoin SASAMF (France)28 April 2026
eToroeToro (Europe) LtdCySEC (Cyprus)16 January 2025
KrakenPayward Europe Solutions LtdCentral Bank of Ireland25 June 2025
MeriaMeria SASAMF (France)22 June 2026
OKXOKX Europe LtdMFSA (Malta)27 January 2025
PaymiumPaymium SASAMF (France)22 June 2026
RevolutRevolut Digital Assets (Europe) LtdCySEC (Cyprus)20 October 2025
SwissBorgBlocknodes SASAMF (France)5 March 2026
Trade RepublicTrade Republic Bank GmbH (a bank, notification)BaFin (Germany)28 April 2025

The date is the license or notification date in the ESMA register; for providers from other EU countries, France is among the countries the register lists as served. In total the ESMA register of 7 October 2026 listed 36 active providers licensed by the AMF and 111 from other EU countries that may serve France. Many of them are not exchanges for consumers but, for example, banks, asset managers, payment or custody firms.

Not in the register

  • Binance. Binance France SAS was registered as a PSAN with the AMF on 4 May 2022. The AMF’s list of removed PSANs shows it removed on 2 July 2026, “du fait de la fin de période transitoire MiCA”. No Binance entity was in the ESMA register of licensed providers on 7 October 2026.
  • Bitget, MEXC and Nexo were not in the ESMA register of licensed providers on 7 October 2026. MEXC is on ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities, after a finding by the Dutch AFM.
  • A removed PSAN registration does not always mean a provider has left France. Young Platform S.p.A. lost its French PSAN registration on 2 July 2026 but holds a MiCA license from CONSOB (Italy) that covers France, and Gemini serves France through Gemini Intergalactic EU Ltd, licensed in Malta. Always check the current register.

Fees compared

MiCA requires exchanges to publish their pricing, costs and fees “in a prominent place on their website” (Article 66(4)). The table shows what each exchange’s own pages said on 7 October 2026, for a normal customer at the lowest fee level. “Simple buy” is the buy button in the app; “advanced” is the order book (maker / taker). A spread is the difference between the buying and selling price and is an extra cost on top of the fee. Euro deposits by SEPA bank transfer were free at all of them where a fee was stated. “Not found” means we could not find or read the figure on the exchange’s own pages.

ExchangeSimple buyAdvanced (maker / taker)Card paymentEuro withdrawalCoins to your own wallet
Bitpanda0.99% for bitcoin, included in the price (0–2.49% depending on the asset)0.25% (Fusion, one rate)No Bitpanda feeFreeYes, 0.00000598 BTC
Bitstack (bitcoin only)1.5% below €250, 1.25% to €1,000, 1% above, plus a spread of 0–1%; 0.75% on the paid Plus plan–0.70%Not foundYes: free from 50,000 sats (about 24 h), faster options cost up to €2–3 plus network fee
BitstampSpread 1.8% plus 0–0.5% when markets are volatile0.30% / 0.40%4%€3Yes, variable fee
BitvavoTaker fee, at most 0.25%Maker not found / at most 0.25%1%FreeYes, 0.000017 BTC
Bybit EUSpread 1.30% on weekdays 07:31–20:59 UTC, 1.80% at other times0.10% / 0.25%About 3% via a provider0.08% + €5.50Yes, fixed fee per coin
CoinbaseFee shown before you confirm, plus a spread; rate not published0.25% / 0.50% (its blog, 16 September 2026)Not foundFreeYes, network fee
Coinhouse0.99% + €0.12 (sell 1.29%)–1.99% + €0.12FreeYes, network fee + 0.29% (minimum €1.49, maximum €150)
Crypto.com0.80%0.25% / 0.50% (Exchange)Up to 4%€1 (minimum €80)Yes, 0.0002 BTC (0.0004 BTC from 0.002 BTC)
Deskoin1.50% (minimum €1); recurring buy 1.00%–3.00% for a direct card buy€1Yes, network fee + 0.25%, at most €50 in total
eToro1% plus spread–No specific fee foundFree from a euro accountVia eToro Money, 2% (minimum $1, maximum $100)
Kraken1% plus spread (instant and recurring buy)0.40% / 0.80%€0.25 + 3.75% (debit card)€1Yes, 0.000015 BTC
Meria0.99% for BTC, ETH and USDC; 2.39% for other coins–1.5% to 3.15%1.24% (minimum €100, when selling to your bank)Yes, 0.00012 BTC
OKXNo fee; spread up to 1.00%0.08% / 0.10% on its fee page (0.20% / 0.35% without an X-Perps account, per its help page)Not foundNo OKX feeYes, network fee
Paymium1.49% (market order)0.40% / 0.60%Up to 3.5%€0.99Yes: free (about 24 h) or 0.00004 BTC (about 10 min)
Revolut1.49% (minimum €0.99 to €2.99) plus a spread of 0–3%0% / 0.09% (Revolut X)Not foundNot foundYes: €3 service fee plus network fee
SwissBorg0.99% plus a liquidity spread of unstated size–2.25%0.10% (minimum €1.50, maximum €100)Yes, network fee + 0.1% (minimum €1.61 for BTC)
Trade Republic€1 per order; savings plans free; spread not stated–First deposit free, then 1%Not foundYes, no Trade Republic fee

A few things the table does not show:

  • Coinhouse charges 0.79% for crypto-to-crypto swaps and offers a paid investor plan; a “specific request” withdrawal costs €150 extra.
  • Meria allows at most five crypto withdrawals per 24 hours, and bitcoin only on the bitcoin network.
  • Paymium charges no inactivity fee for accounts opened on paymium.com since 1 January 2025; for older inactive accounts it states 10% a year.
  • Revolut adds 1% on its Standard plan above €1,000 of crypto purchases a month, and keeps any surplus of the network fee it charges.
  • Bybit EU calls its own withdrawal fees “relatively higher”, and Crypto.com has a €80 minimum for euro withdrawals.
  • We could not read Bitvavo’s fee page, Coinbase’s Advanced fee page or Revolut’s French fee page directly; the figures come from their help centers, blog and fee document.

Features compared

ExchangeNumber of coins (its own claim)StakingRecurring buyBitcoin LightningIn French
Bitpanda680+ digital assetsYes, commission not statedYesNot foundYes
Bitstack1 (bitcoin)NoYes, plus round-upsNoYes
Bitstamp100+Yes (ETH, ADA), 15% or more of rewardsYesNot found for customersNo French site found
Bitvavo400+Yes, commission not publishedYesNoHelp center
Bybit EU500+YesYesNot foundYes
CoinbaseNot statedYes, 35% commissionYesYesYes
Coinhouse70+YesYesNot foundYes
Crypto.com400+ (250+ elsewhere on the same page)Yes, 15–35% of rewardsYesNot foundYes
Deskoin100+ (its pages differ)Not foundYesNot foundYes
eToro150+Yes, keeps at least 10% of rewardsYes (from $25 a month)Not foundYes
KrakenNot stated (600+ pairs)Yes, 20% commission on flexible stakingYesYesYes
Meria70+Yes, 5–14% commissionYesNoYes
OKX270+YesYesYes (up to 0.05 BTC per withdrawal)Yes
Paymium12 in its fee tableNot foundYesNot foundYes
Revolut300+Yes, 0–50% of rewardsYesNot foundYes
SwissBorgNot statedYes, 15% performance fee plus a 50% service fee on the standard planYesNot foundYes
Trade Republic50Yes, no extra fee statedYes (savings plan)Not foundYes

Staking and lending are not regulated under MiCA; Bitvavo says so itself. Remember that staking rewards are taxed as BNC income (see personal tax).

How to check a provider

  1. Look the provider up on the AMF white list of authorized crypto-asset service providers (PSCA). Check that the legal entity you sign up with is the one on the list, and which services it may provide.
  2. For providers from other EU countries, the ESMA register shows the home regulator and the countries it may serve. France must be among them.
  3. Check the AMF black lists and ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities. The AMF warns that the black lists are not complete: a platform that is not on them is not necessarily reliable.
  4. For crypto derivatives such as CFDs, the platform needs an investment firm license instead: check it in the Regafi register.
  5. Read the fee page before you deposit: the exchange must publish it. Look at the spread as well as the fee, and at the cost of withdrawing coins.

If in doubt, AMF Epargne Info Service answers questions on 01 53 45 62 00. A license means a provider is supervised; it does not make the coins themselves safe. The AMF warns that by speculating on crypto you risk losing your whole stake.

Enforcement in France

  • End of the PSAN regime. The AMF removed every PSAN without a MiCA license from its register on 2 July 2026. Its list of removed PSANs shows, for each firm, the reason and date.
  • Crypto ATMs. After reports by the AMF, the Paris specialized court (JIRS) searched and seized several crypto ATMs on 13 June and 17 December 2024, in an investigation into illegal operation and aggravated money laundering (see crypto ATMs).
  • Black lists. The AMF publishes black lists and warnings about firms and websites, and when it detects operators acting in breach of the rules it reports them to the public prosecutor.

On 7 October 2026 ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities contained no entry from the AMF.

If an exchange fails

There is no guarantee scheme for crypto. The AMF says that if a platform fails, even one authorized by the AMF, crypto-assets are not covered by the guarantee system of the Fonds de garantie des dépôts et de résolution (FGDR). What MiCA does require:

  • Separation. An exchange that holds your crypto must keep it separate from its own, also on the blockchain, and legally separate from its estate, “so that creditors of the crypto-asset service provider have no recourse to crypto-assets held in custody … in particular in the event of insolvency” (Article 75(7)).
  • Your euros. Customer money must be placed with a bank or central bank by the end of the next business day, in an account separate from the exchange’s own (Article 70(3)). This does not apply to exchanges that are themselves a bank, payment or e-money institution.
  • Liability. The exchange is liable for crypto lost through an incident attributable to it, up to the market value at the time of the loss (Article 75(8)).
  • Statements and wind-down. You get a statement of your holdings at least every three months (Article 75(5)), and custodians must have a plan for an orderly wind-down (Article 74).

When a PSAN stopped, the AMF required it to give customers back control of their crypto as quickly as possible, in the way the customer had indicated, or else to transfer it to another registered provider. These rules lower the risk but do not remove it: a failure can still mean a long wait before you get your coins back. Coins in your own wallet do not depend on an exchange at all; the rules for that are on regulation. If you move a larger amount of bitcoin into self-custody, this comparison of a single hardware wallet and a multisig setup explains the options.

Where to complain

  1. The exchange first. Under MiCA every exchange must have a published complaints procedure, free of charge and with a template, and must investigate complaints “in a timely and fair manner” (Article 71). Complain in writing.
  2. The AMF Ombudsman (Médiateur de l’AMF). If the platform is authorized by the French authorities, the AMF says its Ombudsman can try to settle the dispute out of court. You must first have complained in writing to the firm; you can go to the Ombudsman if you get no answer within two months or the answer does not satisfy you, and not more than one year after your written complaint. The Ombudsman cannot act if the dispute is already before a court, another ombudsman, or the subject of a criminal complaint.
  3. Providers licensed in another EU country. The AMF says to check their terms and conditions, which set out the steps to take.
  4. Court. You can always start legal proceedings. With an illegal platform, a complaint to the police or gendarmerie is the only recourse (see where to report fraud).

Sources

Exchange pages (not official sources)

Fees and features come from each exchange’s own pages, checked on 7 October 2026. They are the exchange’s own statements, not checked by a regulator.

This page is general information, not financial advice. Fees and licenses change, so check the register and the exchange’s own fee page before you open an account.