- An exchange may serve customers in Spain only with a MiCA authorization from the CNMV or from another EU regulator that has notified Spain. Both appear in the CNMV register. Spain’s transitional period ended on 1 July 2026.
- Bit2Me and Criptan are authorized by the CNMV; most large international exchanges serve Spain from Austria, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Cyprus or the Netherlands.
- Fees differ a lot: from no fee plus a spread of up to 1% to about 2% or more for a simple purchase. Some providers charge to withdraw euros or do not let you move coins to your own wallet freely.
- Binance, Bitget and Nexo were not in the EU register of authorized providers on 7 October 2026.
- Crypto at an exchange is not covered by a deposit or investor guarantee scheme. MiCA does require exchanges to keep customers’ crypto separate from their own assets.
This page compares the crypto exchanges that serve residents of Spain and explains how to check one. We do not rank or recommend any exchange, and there are no affiliate links. Fees change often: the figures below are what each exchange published on its own pages on 7 October 2026. Whether a provider is authorized comes from the CNMV and ESMA registers. Tax on your trades is on personal tax.
Who may serve you
Under MiCA, nobody may provide crypto-asset services in the EU without an authorization, or a notification by an already supervised firm such as a bank. A provider authorized in one EU country may serve the whole EU after notifying the other countries (passporting). Spain’s transitional period ended on 1 July 2026, so a registration with the Banco de España alone is no longer enough. The CNMV register lists both the providers it authorized and the providers from other EU countries that may serve Spain.
These are exchanges that consumers in Spain commonly use, with their authorization as shown in the ESMA register of 7 October 2026 and the CNMV register. All of them list Spain among the countries they may serve:
| Exchange | Legal entity | Authorized by | Date of authorization or notification |
|---|---|---|---|
| BBVA | Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria, S.A. (a bank, notification) | CNMV (Spain) | 5 March 2025 |
| Bit2Me | Bitcoinforme, S.L. | CNMV (Spain) | 31 October 2025 |
| Bitpanda | Bitpanda GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 9 April 2025 |
| Bitstamp | Bitstamp Europe S.A. | CSSF (Luxembourg) | 15 May 2025 |
| Bitvavo | Bitvavo B.V. | AFM (Netherlands) | 26 June 2025 |
| Bybit EU | Bybit EU GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 28 May 2025 |
| Coinbase | Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. | CSSF (Luxembourg) | 20 June 2025 |
| Criptan | Criptan Trade, S.L. | CNMV (Spain) | 26 June 2026 |
| Crypto.com | Foris DAX MT Limited | MFSA (Malta) | 27 January 2025 |
| eToro | eToro (Europe) Ltd | CySEC (Cyprus) | 16 January 2025 |
| Kraken | Payward Europe Solutions Limited | Central Bank of Ireland | 25 June 2025 |
| KuCoin EU | KuCoin EU Exchange GmbH | FMA (Austria) | 27 November 2025 |
| OKX | OKX Europe Limited | MFSA (Malta) | 27 January 2025 |
| Revolut | Revolut Digital Assets (Europe) Ltd | CySEC (Cyprus) | 20 October 2025 |
| Trade Republic | Trade Republic Bank GmbH (a bank, notification) | BaFin (Germany) | 28 April 2025 |
The date is the date in the ESMA register for the home country, not the start date in Spain, which the CNMV register does not show. In total the ESMA register of 7 October 2026 listed 15 active providers authorized in Spain, including several banks (such as BBVA, CaixaBank, Kutxabank, Openbank and Renta 4), and 188 from other EU countries that may serve Spain. Many of them are not exchanges for consumers but, for example, payment or custody firms.
Not in the register
- Binance was not in the ESMA register or in the CNMV register of crypto-asset service providers on 7 October 2026.
- Bitget and Nexo were not in the ESMA register either.
- MEXC is on ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities: on 16 September 2025 the Dutch regulator AFM found that it provided crypto-asset services in the Netherlands without the required MiCA license.
- A provider that is not in the register after 1 July 2026 may not serve customers in Spain. The CNMV says it should have a migration plan so that you can move your crypto and money, and that you do not have MiCA’s protection with it.
Fees compared
MiCA requires exchanges to publish their prices, costs and fees. The table shows what each exchange’s own pages said on 7 October 2026, for a normal customer at the lowest fee level. “Simple buy” is the buy button in the app; “advanced” is the order book (maker / taker). A spread is the difference between the buying and selling price and is an extra cost on top of the fee. “Not found” means we could not find or read the figure on the exchange’s own pages. We could not read current fee pages for Bitstamp and BBVA, so they are not in the table.
| Exchange | Simple buy | Advanced (maker / taker) | SEPA deposit | Euro withdrawal | Coins to your own wallet |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bit2Me | 0.95% plus a spread of up to 1.20%; non-SEPA euro payments can add 1.99% | 0.5% / 0.6% (Pro) | Free | Free (minimum €10) | Yes, network fee |
| Bitpanda | 0.99% for bitcoin (0% to 2.49% overall), included in the price | 0.25% (Fusion) | Free | Free | Yes, 0.00000598 BTC |
| Bitvavo | Fee of at most 0.25%; the price guarantee adds a spread (size not stated) | Maker not found / at most 0.25% | Free | Free | Yes, 0.000017 BTC |
| Bybit EU | Not found (card about 3%, Google or Apple Pay about 2%) | 0.25% / 0.25% (from 5 October 2026) | Free | 0.08% plus €5.50 | Yes, fixed fee per coin |
| Coinbase | Conversion fee plus spread; rate not found | From 0.0% maker (its own claim) | Free (its own claim) | Not found | Yes, network fee estimate |
| Criptan | 0.99% (minimum €0.99) plus a spread of 0 to 1% | – | Free | €2.40 at the first level | Yes, network fee |
| Crypto.com | 0.80%, other fees and spread may apply | 0.25% / 0.50% | Free (minimum €20) | €1 | Yes, 0.0002 BTC (0.0004 BTC from 0.002 BTC) |
| eToro | 1% (lower for high-volume tiers) | – | Not found | Free from the euro account | Via eToro Money: 2%, then network fee |
| Kraken | 1% plus spread | 0.40% / 0.80% | Free | €1 | Yes, fee not found |
| OKX | No fee, spread of at most 1.00% | 0.08% / 0.10%, or 0.20% / 0.35% without a derivatives account | Free | Free | Yes, network fee |
| Revolut | Rate not found; spread typically 0 to 3% | 0% / 0.09% (Revolut X) | No deposit fee | Not found | Yes, £3 service fee plus network fee |
| Trade Republic | €1 per order plus spread (size not stated) | – | Free | Free | Yes, network fee only |
A few things the table does not show:
- Bizum, the Spanish mobile payment system, is not offered for deposits by Bitvavo or Kraken and was not listed by Bit2Me or Bybit EU; Trade Republic supports it on its current account.
- Card payments usually cost extra, for example 1% at Bitvavo, 1.99% at OKX, up to 4% at Crypto.com and €0.25 plus 3.75% at Kraken.
- Bit2Me charges €10 a month for inactive accounts (no transactions for 12 months or no login for 3 months). Criptan also charges an inactivity fee; its two fee pages give different amounts.
- Criptan lets you buy and sell only bitcoin, ether, litecoin and USDC directly; other coins only in baskets, according to its pricing policy.
- Bybit EU introduced its single fee of 0.25% on 5 October 2026. OKX charges 0.20% / 0.35% if you have no derivatives (X-Perps) account; its public fee page shows only 0.08% / 0.10%.
- eToro sends coins to your own wallet only through its eToro Money wallet, with a 2% fee to move them there.
Features compared
| Exchange | Number of coins (its own claim) | Staking | Recurring buy | Bitcoin Lightning | In Spanish |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bit2Me | 300+ | Yes (Earn, no commission stated) | Yes | Not found | Site, help center, phone |
| Bitpanda | 650+ | Yes (commission not stated) | Yes (savings plan) | Not found | Site, app, help center |
| Bitvavo | 400+ | Yes (includes lending) | Yes | No | Site, app |
| Bybit EU | Not found | Fixed-term rewards | Yes (DCA bot) | Not found | Help center |
| Coinbase | “Hundreds” | Yes | Not found | Not found | Site |
| Criptan | 30+ (most only in baskets) | No (Earn is a loan to Criptan) | Not found | Not found | Site, contracts, support |
| Crypto.com | 400+ | Yes (15% to 35% commission) | Yes | Not found | Help center |
| eToro | 150+ | Yes (10% to 55% commission) | Yes (from $25) | Not found | Site |
| Kraken | 490+ | Yes (20% commission on flexible staking) | Yes | Yes | Site, help center |
| OKX | 270+ | Liquid staking (BETH, OKSOL) | Yes | Yes (up to 0.05 BTC per withdrawal) | Site, support |
| Revolut | Not found | Yes (0% to 50% of rewards) | Not found | Not found | Not verified |
| Trade Republic | About 50 | Yes | Yes (savings plan) | Not found | Site, support |
With lending products (such as Criptan Earn or part of Bitvavo’s automatic earning) you lend your coins to the provider or its partners, which adds risk. Crypto.com says its Earn and staking products are not regulated under MiCA. How staking rewards are taxed is on personal tax.
How to check a provider
- Look the provider up in the CNMV register of crypto-asset service providers and in the ESMA register. Check that the legal entity you sign up with is the one in the register, and which services it may provide.
- Check the CNMV warning list of unauthorized firms, or call the CNMV on 900 535 015.
- Read the fee page before you deposit: MiCA requires exchanges to publish their prices, costs and fees. Look at the spread as well as the fee, and at the cost of withdrawing coins.
- If you hold more than €50,000 in total with providers outside Spain, remember the modelo 721.
The EU supervisors call most crypto-assets volatile and high-risk and warn that you can lose all the money you invest. An authorization means a provider is supervised; it does not make the coins themselves safe.
If an exchange fails
There is no guarantee scheme for crypto: the EU supervisors say in their warning, published by the CNMV, that you do not benefit from an investor guarantee fund. What MiCA does require:
- Separation. An exchange that holds your crypto must keep it separate from its own, also on the blockchain, and legally separate from its estate, so that its creditors have no claim on it, in particular if it goes bankrupt (Article 75(7)).
- Your euros. Customer money must be placed with a bank or central bank by the end of the next business day, separate from the exchange’s own money (Article 70(3)). This does not apply to exchanges that are themselves a bank, payment or e-money institution.
- Liability. The exchange is liable for crypto lost through an incident attributable to it, up to the market value at the time of the loss (Article 75(8)).
- Statements and wind-down. You get a statement of your holdings at least every three months (Article 75(5)), and custodians must have a plan for an orderly wind-down (Article 74).
For tax purposes, the AEAT treats crypto that a failed platform does not return as an unpaid claim, not an immediate loss (see losses). Coins in your own wallet do not depend on an exchange at all; the rules for that are on regulation. If you move a larger amount of bitcoin into self-custody, this comparison of a single hardware wallet and a multisig setup explains the options.
Where to complain
- The exchange first. Under MiCA every exchange must have a published, free complaints procedure and handle complaints fairly and in time (Article 71). Keep a dated copy of your complaint.
- The CNMV. The CNMV’s complaints service (Servicio de Reclamaciones) takes complaints after you have gone to the firm’s customer service first and received no answer within a month or an answer you disagree with; you then have one year. Its page names investment firms, banks providing investment services and fund managers, and does not mention crypto-asset service providers. We found no rule that confirms it handles complaints about crypto providers (October 2026); ask the CNMV before you file.
- A provider from another EU country. The CNMV is a member of FIN-NET, the EU network of out-of-court complaint bodies, which can direct a cross-border complaint to the body in the provider’s home country.
- Court. You can always start legal proceedings.
Sources
- CNMV: Proveedores de servicios de criptoactivos (register) (last checked October 2026)
- ESMA: Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA), interim MiCA register (CASP, non-compliant entities and EMT files of 7 October 2026) (last checked October 2026)
- CNMV: MiCA, nueva regulación de criptoactivos (last checked October 2026)
- CNMV: Comunicado sobre el fin del periodo transitorio del Reglamento MiCA (15 June 2026) (last checked October 2026)
- CNMV: Advertencias sobre entidades no autorizadas (last checked October 2026)
- EBA, EIOPA and ESMA (published by the CNMV): Advertencia sobre los criptoactivos and Los criptoactivos explicados (2025) (last checked October 2026)
- CNMV: Reclamaciones (last checked October 2026)
- EUR-Lex: Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA) (last checked October 2026)
- Agencia Tributaria: Preguntas frecuentes sobre el modelo 721 (last checked October 2026)
Exchange pages (not official sources)
Fees and features come from each exchange’s own pages, checked on 7 October 2026. They are the exchange’s own statements, not checked by a regulator.
- Bit2Me: Comisiones Bit2Me Wallet (last checked October 2026)
- Bit2Me: Comisiones de Bit2Me Pro (last checked October 2026)
- Bit2Me: Comisiones y límites de depósitos y retiros (last checked October 2026)
- Bit2Me: Estructura de tarifas (last checked October 2026)
- Bitpanda: Fusion (last checked October 2026)
- Bitpanda: Explicación de las comisiones y tarifas (last checked October 2026)
- Bitpanda: Payment methods and limits (last checked October 2026)
- Bitvavo: Comisión de trading (last checked October 2026)
- Bitvavo: ¿Cómo puedo depositar euros? (last checked October 2026)
- Bitvavo: Lightning Network (last checked October 2026)
- Bybit EU: Estructura de tarifas de trading (last checked October 2026)
- Bybit EU: Tarifas de Bybit EU (last checked October 2026)
- Coinbase: Contrato de usuario (EEE) (last checked October 2026)
- Coinbase: Advanced Trade (last checked October 2026)
- Criptan: Comisiones (last checked October 2026)
- Criptan: Política de precios, costes y comisiones (last checked October 2026)
- Criptan: Términos y condiciones Earn (last checked October 2026)
- Crypto.com: Fees and limits (EEA) (last checked October 2026)
- Crypto.com Exchange: Fees and limits (last checked October 2026)
- Crypto.com: Staking crypto on Crypto.com App (last checked October 2026)
- eToro: Comisiones (last checked October 2026)
- eToro: Staking (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Estructuras de tarifas (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Opciones de depósito en efectivo (last checked October 2026)
- Kraken: Opciones de retiros de efectivo (last checked October 2026)
- OKX: What are the spot trading fees, and how is my fee tier set? (last checked October 2026)
- OKX: Buy/sell/convert spread disclosure (last checked October 2026)
- OKX: Withdraw bitcoin with the Lightning Network (last checked October 2026)
- Revolut: RDAEL Retail Crypto Fees (last checked October 2026)
- Revolut: RDAEL Revolut X Crypto Fees (last checked October 2026)
- Trade Republic: Criptomonedas (last checked October 2026)
- Trade Republic: Documento informativo de las comisiones (last checked October 2026)
This page is general information, not financial advice. Fees and authorizations change, so check the register and the exchange’s own fee page before you open an account.