Portugal: exchanges

Last reviewed: October 2026

On this page
  1. Who may serve you
    1. Not in the register
  2. Fees compared
  3. Features compared
  4. How to check a provider
  5. If an exchange fails
  6. Where to complain
  7. Sources
    1. Exchange pages (not official sources)
  • An exchange may serve customers in Portugal only with a MiCA authorization from Banco de Portugal or from another EU country, passported to Portugal. On 7 October 2026 the ESMA register listed one provider authorized in Portugal (Bison Bank) and 184 from other EU countries.
  • Fees differ a lot: from about 0.25% to more than 1.5% for a simple purchase, and the spread often comes on top.
  • Binance, Criptoloja, Bitget and Nexo were not in the ESMA register of authorized providers on 7 October 2026.
  • Crypto at an exchange is not covered by deposit guarantee or investor compensation schemes. MiCA does require exchanges to keep customers’ crypto separate from their own assets.

This page compares crypto exchanges that may serve residents of Portugal and explains how to check one. We do not rank or recommend any exchange, and there are no affiliate links. Fees change often: the figures below are what each exchange published on its own pages on 7 October 2026. Whether a provider is authorized comes from the ESMA register; the rules behind it are on regulation.

Who may serve you

Under MiCA, nobody may provide crypto-asset services in the EU without an authorization (Article 59) or a notification by an already regulated firm such as a bank (Article 60). A provider authorized in one EU country may serve others after notifying them (passporting). In Portugal the transitional regime for firms registered with Banco de Portugal ended on 1 July 2026. Under Law 69/2025, Banco de Portugal and the CMVM must publish the list of authorized providers; the EU-wide list is the ESMA interim MiCA register.

These are exchanges and brokers used by consumers in Portugal, with their authorization as shown in the ESMA register file of 7 October 2026. All of them list Portugal among the countries they may serve:

ExchangeLegal entityAuthorized byAuthorization date
Bison BankBison Bank, S.A. (a bank)Banco de Portugal19 May 2026
Bit2MeBitcoinforme S.L.CNMV (Spain)31 October 2025
BitpandaBitpanda GmbHFMA (Austria)9 April 2025
BitstampBitstamp Europe S.A.CSSF (Luxembourg)15 May 2025
BitvavoBitvavo B.V.AFM (Netherlands)26 June 2025
Bybit EUBybit EU GmbHFMA (Austria)28 May 2025
CoinbaseCoinbase Luxembourg S.A.CSSF (Luxembourg)20 June 2025
Crypto.comForis DAX MT LimitedMFSA (Malta)27 January 2025
eToroeToro (Europe) LtdCySEC (Cyprus)16 January 2025
GeminiGemini Intergalactic EU LtdMFSA (Malta)21 August 2025
KrakenPayward Europe Solutions LimitedCentral Bank of Ireland25 June 2025
KuCoin EUKuCoin EU Exchange GmbHFMA (Austria)27 November 2025
N26N26 Bank SE (a bank, notification)BaFin (Germany)14 May 2025
OKXOKX Europe LimitedMFSA (Malta)27 January 2025
RevolutRevolut Digital Assets (Europe) LtdCySEC (Cyprus)20 October 2025
Trade RepublicTrade Republic Bank GmbH (a bank, notification)BaFin (Germany)28 April 2025
XTBXTB LimitedCySEC (Cyprus)15 December 2025

The date is the authorization or notification date in the home country; the register does not show when a provider started serving Portugal. Bison Bank’s entry says it was authorized by Banco de Portugal and the CMVM. Many of the 184 providers from other countries are not consumer exchanges but, for example, payment, custody or investment firms.

Not in the register

  • Binance, Bitget and Nexo were not in the ESMA register of authorized providers on 7 October 2026.
  • Criptoloja was not in the ESMA register either. Since the transitional regime ended on 1 July 2026, a registration with Banco de Portugal under the old rules is no longer enough.
  • MEXC is on ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities, after the Dutch AFM found on 16 September 2025 that it served the Netherlands without a MiCA license.

Fees compared

MiCA requires exchanges to publish their pricing, costs and fees “in a prominent place on their website” (Article 66(4)). The table shows what each exchange’s own EU pages said on 7 October 2026, for a normal customer at the lowest fee level. “Simple buy” is the buy button in the app; “advanced” is the order book (maker / taker). A spread is the difference between the buying and selling price and is an extra cost on top of the fee. “Not found” means we could not find or read the figure on the exchange’s own pages.

ExchangeSimple buyAdvanced (maker / taker)SEPA depositEuro withdrawalCoins to your own wallet
Bit2MeNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot found
Bitpanda0.99% for bitcoin, 1.49% for other coins, included in the price0.25% (Fusion)Not foundFreeYes, 0.00000598 BTC
BitstampSpread 1.8% plus 0–0.5% when markets are volatile0.30% / 0.40%Free€3Yes, variable fee
BitvavoTaker fee, at most 0.25%; the “price guarantee” option adds a spreadMaker not found / at most 0.25%Not foundFreeYes, 0.000017 BTC
Bybit EUSpread 1.30% on weekdays 07:31–20:59 UTC, 1.80% at other times0.25% / 0.25%Not foundNot foundYes, fixed fee per coin
CoinbaseFee plus spread; rate not foundFrom 0.0% maker (its own claim)Not foundNot foundYes, network fee
Crypto.com0.80%, other fees and spread may applyNot foundFree€1Yes, 0.0002 BTC (0.0004 BTC from 0.002 BTC)
eToro1% plus spread–Not foundFreeVia eToro Money, 2% (minimum $1, maximum $100)
Kraken1% plus spread0.40% / 0.80%Free€1 (instant €0.90)Yes, fee not found
OKXSpread 1.00%0.08% / 0.10%Not foundFreeYes, fixed fee per withdrawal
Revolut1.49% (minimum €0.99 to €2.99) plus a spread of 0–3%0% / 0.09% (Revolut X)Via your Revolut accountNot foundYes on eligible plans, service fee plus network fee
Trade Republic€1 per order plus spread (size not stated)–Not foundNot foundYes, network fee only

A few things the table does not show:

  • MB WAY. Bybit EU lists MB WAY as a deposit method “only available for users in Portugal”; it says deposit fees are shown when you select a payment method, and that a fund review may be needed once cumulative MB WAY deposits exceed €2,000. We did not find MB WAY on the other exchanges’ fee pages.
  • Stamp duty. Commissions charged by crypto-asset service providers to clients domiciled in Portugal are subject to 4% stamp duty; check whether a quoted fee includes it.
  • Bybit EU introduced its single fee of 0.25% on 5 October 2026. OKX publishes 0.08% / 0.10% on its fee page, while one of its own explanatory articles names higher rates; the fee page is what we use.

Features compared

ExchangeNumber of coins (its own claim)StakingRecurring buyBitcoin Lightning
Bit2Me300+EarnNot foundNot found
Bitpanda650+Yes (20% of rewards)YesNot found
BitstampNot statedYesYesNot confirmed
Bitvavo400+YesYesNo
Bybit EU115+Earn (unregulated, in its own words)YesNot found
Coinbase“Hundreds”YesYesNot found
Crypto.com400+YesYesNot found
eToro150+YesYes (from $25)Not found
Kraken600+Yes (20% commission on flexible staking)YesYes
OKXNot statedYesYesYes (up to 0.05 BTC per withdrawal)
RevolutNot foundYesYesNot found
Trade Republic50YesYes (savings plan)Not found

Staking and lending are not regulated as such under MiCA; Bybit EU says so itself. With lending you give your coins to the provider or a related company, which adds risk. For tax, rewards are capital income; see staking and DeFi.

How to check a provider

  1. Look the provider up in the ESMA interim MiCA register, or on the lists of Banco de Portugal and the CMVM. Check that the legal entity you sign up with is the one in the register, that Portugal is among the countries it may serve, and which services it may provide.
  2. Check ESMA’s list of non-compliant entities. On 7 October 2026 it contained no entries from Banco de Portugal or the CMVM.
  3. Read the fee page before you deposit: the exchange must publish it. Look at the spread as well as the fee, and at the cost of withdrawing coins.
  4. Check that the provider names its out-of-court dispute resolution bodies: Portuguese law requires at least two (see where to complain).

An authorization means a provider is supervised; it does not make the coins themselves safe. We found no published enforcement measures by Banco de Portugal or the CMVM against crypto exchanges in the sources we could read.

If an exchange fails

There is no guarantee scheme for crypto. MiCA requires every crypto-asset white paper to state that the crypto-asset is not covered by investor compensation schemes (Directive 97/9/EC) or deposit guarantee schemes (Directive 2014/49/EU) (Article 6(5)). What MiCA does require of exchanges:

  • Separation. An exchange that holds your crypto must keep it separate from its own, and legally separate from its estate, “so that creditors of the crypto-asset service provider have no recourse to crypto-assets held in custody … in particular in the event of insolvency” (Article 75(7)).
  • Your euros. Customer money must be placed with a bank or central bank by the end of the next business day, in an account separate from the exchange’s own (Article 70(3)). This does not apply to exchanges that are themselves a bank, payment or e-money institution.
  • Liability. The exchange is liable for crypto lost through an incident attributable to it, up to the market value at the time of the loss (Article 75(8)).
  • Statements and wind-down. You get a statement of your holdings at least every three months (Article 75(5)), and custodians must have a plan for an orderly wind-down (Article 74).

These rules lower the risk but do not remove it. Coins in your own wallet do not depend on an exchange at all; the rules for that are on regulation.

Where to complain

  1. The exchange first. Under MiCA every exchange must have a published complaints procedure, free of charge and with a template, and must investigate complaints “in a timely and fair manner” (Article 71).
  2. Complaints book. Law 69/2025 added crypto-asset service providers to the businesses that must offer the complaints book (Livro de Reclamações).
  3. Out-of-court dispute resolution. Providers must join at least two alternative dispute resolution bodies within three months of starting, and route cross-border disputes to FIN-NET, the EU network for financial disputes (article 11 of Law 69/2025). The provider has to tell you which bodies it joined. The national consumer arbitration center CNIACC handles consumer disputes up to €30,000, including online cross-border purchases, where no regional center is competent.
  4. The regulators. Banco de Portugal and the CMVM must accept complaints about infringements of MiCA (article 10 of Law 69/2025). They use them in supervision; they do not settle individual cases.
  5. Court. You can always go to court.

Sources

Exchange pages (not official sources)

Fees and features come from each exchange’s own pages, checked on 7 October 2026. They are the exchange’s own statements, not checked by a regulator.

This page is general information, not financial advice. Fees and authorizations change, so check the register and the exchange’s own fee page before you open an account.